Home

Dr. James C. Denison
President, Center for Informed Faith, Dallas, TX
May 26, 2011

The greatest miracle you know
We have been discussing issues of science and faith. How can modern people believe in miracles and other supernatural events? Here’s one answer: consider the miracle that is you.

Your body consists of 206 bones, wrapped with 650 muscles and seven miles of nerve fibers. Your eyes possess 100 million receptors, and your ears 24,000 fibers. Your heart beats 36,000,000 times every year and sends blood pumping through more than 60,000 miles of veins, arteries, and tubing.

Your brain contains 13,000,000,000 nerve cells. Picture the possible number of interconnections in your brain this way: the number of atoms in the universe is 1 followed by 100 zeroes. The number of different patterns possible in your brain is 1 followed by over 800 zeros. And your unconscious brain database, that which your unconscious brain knows and stores, outweighs your conscious brain on an order exceeding 10 million to one. You literally cannot imagine how remarkable you are.

The God who made all of that designed you for a personal relationship with himself. But you chose along the way to rebel against what you knew to be right. So did I. Our “sin” would contaminate God’s perfect paradise, just as dirt in a bottle of purified water pollutes it. The only way we can gain entrance into his heaven is for our mistakes and failures to be washed from us. This is his invitation today: “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall be as wool” (Isaiah 1:18).

How can we receive such a gift? By asking for it. When I became a Christian at the age of 15, I was led to pray the simple prayer I now offer to you. If you would pray these words to God and mean them from your heart, he will hear you, answer your prayer, cleanse your sins and give you eternal life. Here is the prayer:

Dear God, thank you for loving me. Thank you that Jesus died on the cross to pay the penalty for my sins and failures. I admit to you that I am a sinner, that I need you to save me. I ask you to forgive me for my sins. I turn from them now. I invite Jesus into my life as my Savior and Lord. I turn my life over to him. I will live for him as long as I live. Thank you for giving me eternal life and making me the child of God. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time just now, please tell a Christian. We cannot live the Christian life in our own ability, any more than a coal can stay lit outside the fire. If you have questions about this decision, please visit http://www.godissues.org/meet-jesus/ or let us know how we can help.

The greatest miracle is not just your life, but your eternal life. Ten thousand millennia after the universe has passed away, eternity will only have begun. Deciding where to spend it is the most significant decision of life. Please choose wisely.

Leave a Reply

