Home

ARE YOU GREAT IN THE EYES OF GOD?
Read Matthew 20:20-28

Charles Spurgeon, in the preface to his collected sermons, made this statement about himself: “Recollect who I am, and what I am—a child, having little education, little learning, ability, or talent…Without the Spirit of God I feel I am utterly unable to speak to you. I have not those gifts and talents which qualify me to speak; I need an afflatus from on high; otherwise, I stand like other men, and have naught to say. May that be given me, for without it I am dumb!” And God used him to preach to 10 million people across his ministry.

D. L. Moody was the son of an alcoholic who died when Moody was four years old. He completed seven grades of school. He said of himself: “I know that other men can preach better than I can. All I can say is that when I preach, God uses me.” And he did—more than a million came to Christ through him.

What did they have in common? Each gave his best in humility to Jesus and others.

By contrast, the mother of James and John asked Jesus that her sons “may sit at your right and the other at your left in your kingdom” (Matthew 20:21). The others “were indignant with the two brothers” (v. 24), perhaps because they had not thought to seek such promotion themselves. Jesus seized the teachable moment, explaining to them that “whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slave” (vs. 26–27). Are you great in the eyes of your Lord?

_______________
For reflection
The night of his betrayal, Jesus washed the feet of his disciples, an act so lowly that no Jew could be made to do it. Then he told them to do for each other what he had done for them (John 13:1–17). When we stand before God one day, he will not inspect our title but our towel. How dirty is yours?

http://www.informedfaith.com/resources/lenten-devotional#lent-day38

Leave a Reply

