Home

By Samuel Stout-Gorlitz

Have you ever felt as though “The Rug was pulled out from under you?” I have.

In May of 2009 we got a phone call saying we should come right away to Grandma’s bedside. She was not doing well. She had not woken up that morning and her breathing did not sound good. We knew it wasn’t long for her.

We came back the next day (after very little sleep) to be with her.

Her breathing had gotten worse. I hated to feel this but I hoped she would leave us soon so she would be better again with God.

To help us with the whole process, we sang Amazing Grace to her and somewhere in the second verse she went to be with the Lord Jesus.

Now we had so many plans that we were going to do that summer with her. So many plans I had with her over the next few years, and the rug was pulled out from under us and we all fell, hard.

But then I got to thinking it was her time. That does not mean it does not still hurt to think about, but I know that she is with God and He is taking care of her.

So all those plans I had are gone. I now have new goals to work towards.

So I did a breakfall and now it is time to counter strike.

Semper Fidelis

Leave a Reply

