Home

By Dr. James C. Denison
President, the Center for Informed Faith, Dallas, Texas
May 5, 2010
Topic: true security

Faisal Shahzad has joined the growing list of terrorists committed to the death of Americans. He was arrested at Kennedy Airport after the unexploded homemade bomb built inside his Nissan Pathfinder left evidence connecting him with this horrific crime. Today’s New York Times tells us that Mr. Shahzad was pulled from an airplane late Monday night and has implicated himself in the attempted bombing.

Newsweek’s website asks, “If you can make explosives out of regular consumer products, is there any way for law enforcement to prevent them falling into the wrong hands?” While the Times Square bomb was apparently primitive and unlikely to detonate, authorities admit that it is impossible to prevent all such homemade bombs. Now aren’t you glad you opened today’s essay?

We’ve been reflecting this week upon security in insecure times. Where is worry living in your heart today? What burdens are weighing on your mind? Scripture promises that God works through all things for the good of those who love him (Romans 8:28). How might our Father use the fears of these days to draw us closer to himself and make us more like his Son?

George Matheson was born to privilege. At the University of Glasgow he graduated first in classics, logic, and philosophy. His prospects for academic success were brilliant.

Then, in his 20th year of life, he became totally blind. He followed God’s call to ministry anyway. Across many years of faithfulness, he pastored some of Scotland’s finest and largest churches, wrote books of philosophical theology which are still read and cited today, was theologian to Queen Victoria, received numerous honorary doctorates, filled the most prestigious lectureships in the land, and was a fellow of the Royal Society.

This prayer by Dr. Matheson convicts me whenever I read it. Let’s make it ours:

My God, I have never thanked thee for my thorn.
I have thanked thee a thousand times for my roses,
But never once for my thorn.
Teach me the glory of my cross,
Teach me the value of my thorn.
Show me that I have climbed to thee by the path of my pain.
Show me that my tears have made my rainbows.

Amen?

Leave a Reply

